This website provides a medium to check PNR status (Passenger Reservation Enquiry) of Indian Railways train tickets. It is also a Q&A community website for asking questions that relates to Indian Railways.

Enter Your PNR Number:

First Indian Railway train was run in 1853 between Mumbai and Thane. Mumbai and Thane are western coastal districts of Maharashtra. Current Indian Railway trains are the result of gradual development in technology. Today it runs thousands of daily express and local passenger trains. Railway has categorized these trains according to their average speed and number of halts on their route. Below are the list of train types:

Metro Trains: These trains are equipped with latest technologies and facilities. It currently runs in few metro cities of India like Delhi and Kolkata. Such metro trains are in demand and government had planned its expansion in other metro cities as well. Metro Rail tickets do not generate unique PNR number because one can not reserve a seat in these trains. These are moderate in speed and generally runs on their scheduled time.

Suburban Locals: They run only in few big Indian cities like Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai. These are also examples of trains for which seat reservation is not possible and hence one can not get pnr status for tickets. These are further divided into slow locals and fast locals. Slow locals halt on every station while the fast ones halt only on main important stations.

Passenger Trains: Passenger trains can also be further classified into slow and fast passenger trains. They run between important small distanced cities.Slow passenger trains have stoppage at every single station in between their route. Reserved tickets are not available and hence unique pnr number generation is not done for tickets.

Express & Super-fast Express: These trains are relatively faster than the above mentioned. They run across long distances and one can book a reserve ticket in these trains. As tickets are reserved, booking system generates unique ten digit pnr number on each tickets to identify the traveler. PNR status checking facility are made available for non reserved train tickets.

Shatabdi and Janshatabdi Express Trains: These are high speed trains available in Indian Railway to connect moderate distanced important stations. They do not have sleeper coaches. They only contain seats for seating. Main difference between Shatabdi and Janshatabdi trains is that Janshatabdi trains have both AC and non AC coaches while Shatabdi trains are fully air-conditioned. Seats can be reserved and pnr status can be checked.

Garib Rath: These trains have AC 3 tier coaches and ticket price is relatively lower than the other air conditioned trains. One can check pnr status of Garib Rath at

Rajdhani Express: These are fully air conditioned trains and connects major cities of India. They are high priority trains and generally runs on their scheduled time. They have very few stoppage in between their route. Seat reservation facility is available in these trains. One can check Rajdhani Express pnr status on this website.

Duranto Express: These are source to destination train service started recently by Indian Railway. From source to destination means, these trains do not stop on any station that comes in their route.

What is PNR Status:
PNR is abbreviation for Passenger Name Record. In the context of Indian Railway Reservation System, it is a unique ten digit number that is associated with a ticket. This unique number is automatically generated by Computer Reservation System (CRS) which is like an indexing number in the database where the details of the passenger or group of passengers are stored. This database details also include important information about the passenger’s current reservation status which continuously get updated with every cancellation if ticket is unreserved.

Where to find PNR number on ticket:
PNR number is generally printed at the top left corner of the printed tickets (tickets that are taken from railway station booking window). In case of the E – Ticket (tickets that are booked online or through IRCTC website), it is mentioned at top in separate cell.

How to check ticket reservation status
You can check your train PNR status by following ways:

  1. Through SMS:
  2. You can check reservation status of your ticket through mobile by sending SMS to any of these numbers. These numbers are 54959. 139, 5676747 and 57886.
    • PNR <10-digit PNR number> to 5676747
    • PNR <10-digit PNR Number> to 54959
    • PNR <10-digit PNR Number> to 139
    • IRPNR <10-digit PNR Number> to 57886

  3. Through Call:
  4. Dial 139 and talk to operator.

  5. Online Websites:

Full form of WL and RAC:

  • WL: WL is the short name for Wait List
  • RAC: Reservation Against Cancellation

Indian Railway Acronyms and Abbreviations:

  1. SL - Sleeper Class
  2. 3A - AC 3 Tier
  3. 3 E - AC 3 Tier Economy
  4. 2S - Second Sitting
  5. FC - First class
  6. 2A - AC 2-tier sleeper
  7. 1A - First class AC
  8. GN – General Quota
  9. DF - Defence Quota
  10. CK - Tatkal Quota
  11. SS – Travelling Alone Female Quota (above 45 Year) / Senior Citizen Quota
  12. LD – Ladies Quota
  13. HP - Physically Handicapped Quota

Disclaimer: We are not the part of Indian Railways official Websites. This is a Q&A website on Indian Railway. Q&A sites may contain false information. Using this site confirms that you are agree with all the terms and conditions.